RSS Feed

The (not) Power of Positive Thinking

So despite what has been called my somewhat Eeyor-ish nature I try to keep things positive

And I know it’s wrong to hate.

But.

Have you ever grown to hate a piece of furniture?

I think I hate a chair.

It was given to me by a client as a “thanks” so it was free and I can’t complain too much about free.  It was in horrible condition having been left outside forever but I like the shape and hopped to work (hopped so fast, in fact, that there is no “before” picture).

I did my usual backward approach to design.  You know how you’re supposed to find a fabric or something and then match the paint to it because that’s logical?  I’m too impatient for that.  I keep painting things and then looking for fabric to match.  Genius.

Anyway, I painted it a flashy red, and, wonder of wonders, actually found a fabric that would work (and we know how I feel about fabric stores)!  I had  had to rebuild the backing on the backrest because it was destroyed and even that came out looking professional.

And it looks like this:

So “yeah me!” right?

Wrong!

I CAN’T GET THE STUPID THING BACK TOGETHER!!!!

Yes, I realize it looks “together” in this shot but here is what it actually looks like after you move it, sit in it or, basically, look at it cross-eyed.

OK, well, the seat doesn’t disappear but you get the  idea.

That back is held on with some really dumb system (really dumb!  Like if I find out who designed it I will hunt them down and… I don’t know, I’m not a violent person so I’ll……. make fun of their shoes or something else really mean) that just will not stay in place.

I’ve tried everything I can think of.  I’m tempted to just dump it on the curb but I’ve already invested so much time and I have trouble admitting defeat……

I don’t want to end this post on a negative note though so I’m gonna go all schizophrenic (it’s how I roll) and switch to something very non-furniture related.

I drove over to meet my best friend Karla for lunch yesterday and parked near her office.

Except this isn’t an actual street.  It’s the “New York Street” backlot set at the CBS Studio.

I’ve been acting all my life and I’ve been on many sets but I still just totally geek out when I’m on an actual studio lot! I just love them.

You’ve seen this”street” a million times – Will and Grace, How I Met Your Mother, CSI New York and on and on and on.  They do the most amazing things with these backlots!  They will re-dress them a million different ways and you’ll never know it’s the same set.  All those buildings are two stories high but only about 10 feet deep.  The inside of the “shop” is just a big photograph of the inside of a shop.

This next shot show what it looks like if you back up a little bit:

See those wires coming off the top of the buildings?  Using those, they can pull sheets of fabric across the entire street so that they can shoot nighttime shots during the day.

And now that we’re on the subject of backlots and television…..I have potentially good news about an acting role but I’m too superstitious to divulge the whole story just yet.

I will keep you posted!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. You did a great job with the paint color and fabric selection! I love it. Hoping you can get it back together! Love the backlot shot! Will and Grace was one of my fave shows. I once saw Eric McCormick in the airport in Toronto. I was behind him in line at a newsstand. I was totally starstruck and tongue-tied. I wanted to say hi but totally chickened out. Boy was he even more good looking in person!

    Reply
  2. Jenniffer Dorsett

    Oh my…I love, love that fabric! It would go perfect with a red couch I just bought!

    Break a leg on your acting pursuits!

    Reply
    • M&M – you should have spoken to Mr. McCormick. I have friends who know or have met him and all reports are that he’s a really nice guy.
      Jennifer – the fabric is from Joann’s if that helps at all – not sure it could hold up to the rigors of full-on couch life but it would probably work for pillows or something.

      Reply
  3. You are as funny as you are artistic!!! LOL!!!

    Eeyore is my favorite Pooh character yet I’m quite the Pollyanna…go figure!!

    The chair is gorgeous!!! I love the red and that fabric is wonderful!! I hope you figure out the back part. It sounds weird!!

    I love the back lot pic!!! I wish you well with your potential job!!! Got to see a taping of Let’s Make a Deal last week so that’s my brush with fame!! 😉

    Reply
  4. The chair is georgeous except for that one pesky little detail. Hope you get that figured out. Thanks for the shots and info about the back lot. Hollywood is very sneaky about making things look very realistic. Best of luck on your possible acting role.

    Reply
  5. …HEY…did you know Eric is CANADIAN ‘eh!? Be still my heart…twenty years ago…siiiigh…can still oogle…

    Reply
  6. PS…acting role??? DO TELL!! What a tease!! BEST of luck David!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

