RSS Feed

My Blue Period

The Rose Bowl Round Up.

If I had to chose one word to describe the Rose Bowl yesterday that word would be: HOT!

But, unfortunately not “hot” as in “crazy hot sales!” but rather “hot” as in “Good lord it’s hot!  Lets not buy anything.”

Honestly, I wasn’t too surprised.  It’s August in Southern California and everyone is in a non-shaded parking lot.  It just saps your will to live desire to rummage through things.  I didn’t even buy anything and I ALWAYS buy something.

To be honest, I did OK.  The wooden letters I make were popular and this little table you may recall from Friday sold right off the bat!

As did the chairs pictured above my candle blocks, magnets and  magnetic chalk boards.

So I really can’t complain.

I did manage to get away from the booth for a bit and I remembered to bring my point and shoot camera along so I could show you around.

However, I did not remember to read the manual closely enough to find the section marked “When you slip the camera into you pocket you will somehow initiate the Blue Filter of Death (nor why anyone would want their camera to tint every picture blue.  Seriously, what occasion would that be right for?  Drowning?  Tidy Bowl promotional opportunities?).

So below is a representation of what I’m calling “My Blue Period” at the Rose Bowl.  I’ve done my best Photoshop playing but they are still all “off” colorwise- my apologies.

The Rose Bowl is vast.  You really can find anything you want there (and I want pretty much all of it).

Check out these cool vintage pinball games hung flat as wall art:

And I think my sister would possibly kill for this spool cabinet

I spoke recently about my booth always looking a bit like the color wheel threw up and I so admire Nicki Huard and her Nicki Huard Creations.  Her set up and her way with color and combining elements is just perfect.  Of course, you can’t get any true idea of that because everything looks, well, blue but trust me her area never fails to look beautiful and totally inviting (she doesn’t have a website unfortunately but if you go to the Rose Bowl seek her out!).

And, finally, I visited my new friends Mak and Jill who are, luckily for everyone in this neck of the woods, Annie Sloan Paint representatives, along with being really nice women and very talented furniture restorers.

Due to my stupid camera it’s hard to get a good sense of this bed but what she did with it was awesome.  It used to have that very 1980s wrought iron inset in the head and footboard.  She got it out (how?) and replaced it with this beadboard that she painted multiple, beautiful ASCP colors.  It looks OK here but it was a total knock-out in real life and a genius idea.

And here (from their website) is what their stuff actually looks like:

When I confessed that I had not yet actually used ASCP (I’ve made a vow not to buy any more paint until I use up the 30 or so partial cans of other paint stored in the Blair Witch Room)  Mak was shocked SHOCKED!  And insisted I take a sample home with me.  It was incredibly nice of her and I can’t wait to try it out.  But later I thought “is this like a gateway drug?”

“Hey kid, wanna try some aweome paint?  You’ll love it.  You’ll never want to do anything else but use it.  This first one is free but after that…….”

And this is what happens to nice boys, going through a blue period wandering the Rose Bowl.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. Glad things went well for you. Love the spool cabinet.

    Reply
  2. Gateway drug= ASCP. I think I’ve heard about that totally happening. Funny!

    Reply
  3. Ha ha…once you try ASCP, you’re HOOKED for LIFE, just remember that…NO rehab programs currently in existence!! (none needed either…)

    Reply
  4. The blue and white chairs = dreamy!!

    And for the blue pics….everyone (as in a lot of pics I’m seeing lately) seems to be putting a filter just like that on their pics…on purpose!! So you totally coulda just said “here are more shots of the Rose Bowl” and I woulda bought it!! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hello, Just had to thank you for your glowing review of my space at the Rose Bowl.It’s nice to have someone appreciate the work that goes into turning a chainlink and asphalt corner into a “French Chateau”. I also read the rest of your posts and love your wit. Please try to stop by at the next show, I’d love to meet you and be able to see your space.
    Thanks again,
    Nicki Huard

    Reply

Leave a Reply

