RSS Feed

Preparations Continue

Mad Rose Bowl Prep continues! (with a brief pause for a double feature – I needed to get out of the garage)

I’ve made lots of candle blocks:

Some more of my letters

Coasters of course

And slowly, End Table Nirvana is fulfilling its potential.

Bondo played its role– since this one was missing big hunks of its edge.

Some Priming (I paint things upside down first to make sure I don’t miss any nooks or crannies).

 

 

 

 

 

And after I primed this one (upside down) the wood top looked so good with the white legs that I was tempted to keep it.  Until I realized that the Bondo’d edges would then be pink so that plan bit the dust.

 

And then, as always, I hit the color decision wall.

I think I have design ADD.  I keep vowing to pick a color palette and stick with it – but I just can’t do it. Even just sticking with a style would help.  When I look at other peoples shops or booths they are so unified: “we do French provincial furniture painted pale blue and grey” or something.  But my booths always look like, well, someone with design ADD is loose.

 

A rustic bureau

Sits next to a kind of deco-ish children’s chalkboard table.

I’m sure it must be a little confusing to the customer.  Heck, it’s confusing to me.  But each piece I get seems to need a different treatment.

Never the less I’m tryng to keep things a little more contained this time…..I’ll post my final pics on Saturday.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. Your letters are gorgeous! I am going to try Bondo on a chair I bought that has a bit of a bite out of it. We will see how that goes. I like your painting booth.

    Reply
  2. Jenniffer Dorsett

    Don’t think of it as design ADD, think of it as letting the furniture tell you what color it truly wants to be, not what color box you want to put it in. I love your eclectic design look!

    Reply
  3. Donna, good luck with the bondo! It’s very easy to use (the sanding does create a fair amount of dust though so be prepared)

    Jennifer I like your perspective on my randomness! It’s just that you hear so much about branding and being consistent. Perhaps Inconsistent is my brand! “Come to Cheltenham Road – you never know what the heck you’ll get!”

    Reply
  4. I really do love the candle blocks!! Well, I’m quite fond of all of your items, actually!!! 🙂

    As to the ADD please don’t worry about it!!! I get bored walking into a place that has the same “theme” all throughout….however, get me in a shop/booth that has ecclecticity (I made that word up just for you!!) going on and I just get lost in it!! Something new around each corner is very exciting!!!

    So, you just be you and they will come!!! 😀

    Reply
    • “Ecclecticity” is an awesome word!!!! I’m loving it!

      Thanks for the words of encouragement – I will try to own my ecclecticity!

      Reply
      • Haha!!! I’m glad you like it!!!

        It is hard to not listen to all the “voices” and just hear your own….probably the thing I admire most in all artists!!!

        I keep hearing ads for the Rose Bowl this weekend and I think of you!! I hope it’s super fun and successful for you out there!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

