RSS Feed

Oh the Horror!

I’ve mentioned before that I have good friends, right?

Did I mention that one of my good friends, Ken, is responsible getting my coasters into Bar Keeper  – the first retail shop that carried my work?

He knows the owner and went to the shop to look for photo-shoot props and mentioned that my stuff would fit in there and, viola, my product is in a real brick an mortar store. And a terrific one at that!

And now my friend Jamie (who I used to work with at “the day job”) has gotten me into another shop.

Jamie was visiting Dark Delicacies , a store here in Burbank that specializes in gothic, horror and vintage things. In chatting with the owner she said, “OH, my friend David makes things that you would like” and ran out to her car and retrieved my Gothic Halloween Coasters …….

……..I’m going to interrupt my story here for a moment so that we can all ponder why, exactly, Jamie was driving around Burbank….in July….with Halloween coasters in her car. Any thoughts? Nope, me neither……..

Anyway, Sue, the owner agreed that these were just what she was looking for and BAM, I’ve got another order for coasters and my Halloween Candle Blocks!

So after meeting with Sue I rushed right home and, naturally, cleaned the garage.

That may sound un-intuitive but it had to be done.

My house is a fixer-upper and when I first toured it the garage was very, um, daunting and the little space built off the back of it was immediately dubbed “The Blair Witch Room” and is still called that to this day.

I have a dream garage in my mind and it looks like this.

Neatly organized. Clean.

But my already scary garage was made even worse by my recent slam to get things ready for Unique LA and, though I hesitate to show you this (my father will be horrified), it looked like this:

And, sadly, that shot is after I emptied out a lot of stuff.

There was no way I was going to really get work done until I got that pesky  Horder’s film crew out of there cleaned it up.

I spent all day – 9-7:30 in 90 degree heat and I’m still not done. And I haven’t even ventured into The Blair Witch Room……..

Oh, the horror!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. Uncle David…I LOVE to clean and organize! I haven’t been out to California to visit you and I’m really good at heavy lifting. Want help? Email me if you’re interested!

    Reply
  2. I don’t even want to walk to the mailbox in 90 degree weather!!!! I love your stories!

    Reply
  3. I love that desk on the left!! Oh and congratulations! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Donna! And yes, that desk is great. And very, very heavy. I keep wanting to start on it and then thinking, “but then I have to lug it to market or something” so there it sits……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

