RSS Feed

A Find and a Confession

OK, here’s the truth.   I don’t just work on furniture and make coasters and such.

I’m also an actor.

This may not come as a big surprise- after all, I live in Los Angles, isn’t everybody here an actor?  It often seems that way and because of that I tend to keep my acting endeavors kind of low profile which, admittedly, probably isn’t the best plan when pursuing a career in something totally based on the LOOK AT ME! principle. 

But I’ve done OK.  I’ve been acting (or acting out) since I was a kid, did off broadway stuff when I lived in NYC and now do random parts on TV (House, The Mentalist etc).

So, yesterday, I had an audition for a new TV show and this required me to drive to the wilds of downtown Los Angeles where I can never find parking and always (A.L.W.A.Y.S) get lost.

So, after the obligatory swearing “getting lost” phase I entered the obligatory cursing “quest for parking” phase and on some random, slightly seedy, side street I happened to find a spot right in front of this!

 

Isn’t it perfect?!

OK, it’s in need of some sincere attention but it’s dovetail jointed solid wood with beautiful lines and great hardware.  Perfect!  And free!

Now, the funny/sad part of this story is that whenever I see something I really like I immediately become convinced that the immediate area is crawling with other like-minded people and I’m overcome by a fear that if I don’t GRAB THIS NOW someone else will come along and snatch away my filthy, broken down dresser.

Perfectly logical I’m sure you’ll agree.

So, imagine you’re a resident of the area – you go to open your window because it’s 90 degrees outside and see a very well dressed (my role was a lawyer) man frantically stuffing a sincerely ratty old dresser into the back of his tiny Honda.  Do you think to yourself “Wow! This recession must be REALLY bad!” or, living in Los Angeles, do you think “stupid actors…they’re everywhere!”

Probably the latter.

Anyway, I got it in my car and arrived at the appointment on time if slightly more disheveled than I’d intended.  And the audition went really well!  Nice people – fun character.

 And I got the role!

…..And then they cut the part!

Awesome.

 So, bottom line:

Acting: 0

Furniture: SCORE!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. well – look at you!!! It’s nice to see your face and then to find out I’ve probably seen you on TV! Yay! Now I’m jealous of your ratty dresser too! I can’t wait to see the reloved finished product! So you got the part and now you don’t but the dresser will live on forever! I love to find your post in my email – always fun!

    Reply
  2. Sorry about the audition! I was in my first play this summer – a nun in the Sound of Music. I am 62 and was terrified. I’m sure another part will come along but in the meantime looking forward to seeing you transform that dresser!

    Reply
    • Ah well, that is the way of most auditions I’m afraid but thank you for the sympathy and congrats on your Sound of Music debut! I hope, despite being terrified, you enjoyed it. I once worked with a woman who was one of the nuns in the movie version of Sound of Music. She had good stories!
      I’ll keep you posted on the dresser.

      Reply
  3. Beautiful! this will be a great before and after! What are your plans for it?

    Reply
    • Plans? What are these “plans” you speak of?
      I so wish I could actually plan but every time I acquire something and think “I know exactly what to do with this” I end up doing something entirely different…. so I’ve given up on real plans. Right now, I’m imagining it being a light blue with white drawers maybe (which means it will probably end up being purple with orange accents or something). But my real plan for the moment is repair, repair, repair – man that thing is a mess!
      Thanks for reading the blog and for commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

