RSS Feed

A New World

I woke up Monday morning to a whole new world.

As you may or may not know, after almost 20 years of working in Corporate Land I quit my job to do my “other work” full time.  Friday was my last official day at my desk.

I thought I would ease into my new life so I spent the weekend working on some new coaster designs:

 

These make me think of summers at the lake (not that I ever experienced that but I have a vivid vacation imagination which apparently includes vacations during time periods – like the 40s – when I wasn’t actually alive)

 But my “ease into it” phase was short lived and I couldn’t be happier.

 As I’d mentioned previously I am madly prepping for the Unique LA  show coming up at the end of this month.

And then, on Monday I met with Marci who runs a new shop here in LA called CoOp 28  –she’s terrific and the store is exactly the kind of place I would open if I did such things.  If you’re local please go and check it out.  And she wants to feature some of my coasters there!  

I came home from that meeting to find that my regular customer, Joe – he of the awesomely cool retro Barware store Bar Keeper  – had put in another large order. 

And then I got my largest single-buyer order on Etsy.

And I was contacted by another new, local shop that wants to stock my work.

So all the signs are good that I made the right decision in quitting!

Of course, my dining room table now looks like this:

And I’ve had to establish a temporary table in the living room for the overflow.

 Because my dreamed of workroom still looks like this:

 

And I don’t even want to talk about the garage.

 So, bottom line.  I’ve quit my cushy 9 hour/good pay day job to start my 14 hour/low pay day job.

AND I COULDNT BE HAPPIER

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. Congratulations for taking the leap into the wild world of entrepreneurialism. More hours, doing stuff you love? Sounds like a good deal to me!! And love the lakeside vacation coasters!

    Reply
  2. Good Luck! It sounds like you will enjoy this job alot better!

    Reply
  3. Livin’ the dream! Do what you love, and find a way to get paid for it 😉 Happy for you!!! And I LOVE those coasters!

    Reply
  4. YAAAYYY!!! Congratulations on having the courage to follow your dreams!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations! Glad things are falling into place for you. Love the coasters too!

    Reply
  6. Congratulations on your life decision! Best of luck and love the vacation coasters!

    Reply
  7. Uncle David…this is awesome news! I’m so happy for you. You’re such an inspiration to me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

