RSS Feed

Bedside Table Makeoever

My usual pattern is that I come up with an idea, execute it and then see if anybody wants to buy it.   

But every once in a while someone sees my work, likes it and “commissions” me to make something for them. 

 I dig the idea of having “clients” – it feels very grown up and professional – but it also totally stresses me out.  

 If someone comes to my Etsy store or my booth at the Rose Bowl Market and sees something they like that’s great – very straightforward.  But being asked to design something for someone, to listen to what they say they want and then try to create that….that’s a whole different skill set.

 So, when a very nice woman asked me to take some bedside tables she had and make them suitable for her little girl’s room I leapt and the chance (income!) and then worried for two weeks. 

 She wanted something feminine but not too “little girly” – they definitely needed to grow with her daughter and not have to be replaced anytime soon.  

 They looked like this:

 They were nice, solid pine but seemed a little clunky to me – typical “unfinished furniture store” kind of things.

 Whenever I work on something that’s leaning more toward the feminine side I always try to picture things that would make one of my sisters exclaim “that’s so cute!”

 So, channeling my sisters, I decided the tables needed to be a lighter color and have some kind of decorative pattern.  Unfortunately my decorative pattern painting skills are sorely lacking (except for stripes! I’m good at stripes!)

 

But stripes weren’t going to cut it this time around.

 I found some pretty wrapping paper at The Container Store and some kind of lacy looking molding at Michaels that I thought might work and got going with the sanding and the painting and the decoupaging and came up with this: 

  It turned out to be pretty easy and my “client” liked it (and all the times I was “stuck” shopping with my sisters paid off*)! 

 Here’s hoping her little girl doesn’t go through a Goth stage anytime soon.

Thanks for stopping by,

David

 * I just want to be very clear (especially since they read this blog and I don’t want family get togethers to turn ugly) that, since adulthood, I have always very much enjoyed shopping with my sisters.  It was only as a child that fabric stores and “cute little shops” felt like some kind of punishment.

 

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. This project turned out awesome!!!! Smart footnote 😉

    Reply
  2. You did a terrific job on those! I can’t imagine them being any more perfect for a girl’s room!

    Reply
  3. You did a great job…this will grow with the girl! By the way, at least one of your sisters also got incredibly bored when she was little and now enjoys shopping as an adult too!
    I seem to remember certain scars incurred while waiting for shopping to be over….
    Phebe

    Reply
  4. These look great, and you really are very good at doing stripes!!
    Tina

    Reply
  5. You did a fantastic job. You sell at the Rose Bowl? Oh how I miss good ole Pasadena. I just got a custom order as well for a little girls room and I’m feeling your stress. Hope you will share this at our showoff party on Sunday at http://decoratinginsanity.com. xo…mONICa

    Reply
  6. Very cool! I love the pattern you picked out against the crisp white.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

