RSS Feed

Sofa Table Makeover – and petty crime

“It’s $1.99.”

 “Are you sure it’s not supposed to be $19.99?”

 “The tag says $1.99 – do you want it or not?” said the understandably fatigued, slightly belligerent, Salvation Army lady.

 The store was crowded.  The line was long.  There was no air conditioning and she clearly wasn’t in the mood for a pricing debate with some overgrown Boy Scout who wanted to pay extra.

 So, although technically it wasn’t my fault and I tried to do the right thing, I feel like I stole something from the Salvation Army (which seems like a really bad move Karma-wise).   

Because I got this for $1.99

The top was in seriously bad shape and, as you can see it was, um,… missing something there in the front.  But look at those awesome legs!  And I was convinced I could create a replacement part for that front piece.  Or maybe replace the entire front with a useful drawer!

 So I forked over my $2.00 (I put the penny change in the “need a penny?” basket which didn’t make me feel as unguilty as I’d hoped it would) stuffed it in my Honda Civic and took it home – – –

where it sat for quite a while because, unfortunately, my imaginary carpentry skills far outpace my actual carpentry skills. 

 I lack that key element of patience (“measure twice?!! But that would slow me down!!!). 

 After a couple of tries I had to admit that I couldn’t duplicate the missing part and that I would just need to create a whole new front.

 I decided to make this piece my homage to Miss Mustard Seed  and her amazing and awesome work.  So, after cutting a new front out, I painted the bottom, did a little distressing, stained the top and added a couple of doo-dads to make it fancy.

I’m totally pleased with how it came out. 

I do still wish it had a drawer but…..  Patience….patience…..

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. I love how the table turned out! And what a great deal you got!

    Reply
  2. WOW, that was a steal and it looks awesome…..even with no drawer!

    Reply
  3. Amazing! And where did you find the dr pepper box that’s sitting on top?

    Reply
    • Hi Jenn. I answered your question on theblog but didn’t know if you’d see it (I’m new to all the technology). Sorry if I’m doubling up on you.

      Ipurchased the box at the Rose Bowl Market here in Pasadena, CA. I’ve seen them at other antique and flea markets too. Prices seem to be all over the place. I got this one for $12 but, on the same day someone wanted a simlar one for $30. I think a lot depends on whose logo is on the box.

      Happy Hunting,

      Best, David

      Reply
  4. Hi Jenn. I purchased the box at the Rose Bowl Market here in Pasadena, CA. I’ve seen them at other antique and flea markets too. Prices seem to be all over the place. I got this one for $12 but, on the same day someone wanted a simlar one for $30. I think a lot depends on whose logo is on the box.

    Reply
  5. LOVE IT! It’s fabulous. That was a steal in every sense of the word. Great job on it.

    Reply
  6. How lovely! You did a great job replacing the front… you’d never know it, it looks so good.

    Reply
  7. I table is FABULOUS! Looks great with the vintage suitcases! Glad to meet another “Pepper”. I see you’ve been to the rose bowl flea market. Have you visited the Pasadena city college flea market? It’s great for treasures as well.
    Susan

    Reply
    • Hey Susan, Thank you so much. I actually have a booth at the Rose Bowl every month – if you come please stop by and say hi – I’m in F16. And yes the City College one was HUGE last time I visited.

      Reply
  8. Haahaa…..I meant “the” table. sighhhhh.

    Reply
  9. I’ve been popping around your blog and love all you do! This one is fabulous…love your writing style too.

    Reply
  10. Lori Rodrigues

    I’ve seen that Miss Mustard Seed uses milk paint a lot… Is that what you used to achieve this look? I’m sorry… I’m new to this whole thing. Is it rude to ask what you used? I just love the look of it. I’ve seen so many beautiful pieces that have been painted with milk paint and Annie Sloan, but that can get really pricey! Is there a short cut or a special technique that can be done with just regular paint for this type of style????? HELP!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

