RSS Feed

Work Room Makeover

I live in Los Angeles and I do a lot of my work in the garage but weather isn’t always my friend and the garage isn’t a great place to spend a lot of time due to certain factors:

1) Bad lighting

2) No heat or cooling

3) Lots and lots of dust

4) Lots and lots of spiders. I’m serious! Black Widows. It’s like a science fiction movie out there. Mostly we get along ok but it’s still unnerving.

As my business has grown I’ve needed more inside, spider- free space (the thrill of finishing a project is severely undermined when you come back to find that an errant arachnid has wandered into the not-yet-dry finish and perished).

So, my dining room ended up looking like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And all the supplies are squirreled away in other rooms and closets.

In short, inefficient, annoying and truly putting a crimp in my dinner party plans.

So, the Great Guest Bedroom Makeover has begun. The goal is to create the ultimate work room, get everything contained in one spider-free(ish – lets be honest, they’re everywhere) space and live happily ever after.

The dream would be to have it look like this amazing space from spaceplanner.com (click on the picture to be taken to their site – its great)

 

But, here is the room as it stands now. 

 

 

 

Lots of work to do.  And lots and lots of shelving needed.

 Luckily I had another Craig’s List score! 

 I found a lovely couple who are moving from Van Nuys to open a Bed and Breakfast. 

 In France!

 No, seriously, I’m very happy for them (is there a sarcasm font?  I need one.)

 Happily, the Francophiles had a lot of shelving that wasn’t going to go with their rustic, new “we live in France” lifestyle.  But it’s in pretty bad shape and needs sanding and painting so Project Paint a Billion Shelves will now commence.

 And I came across this brilliant idea from the latest issue of This Old House Magazine about how to paint shelves or doors more quickly and using less space.

 Screw four spacer blocks (made from scrap wood) to each corner of the door or shelf .

 You can then paint one side, flip it over and paint the other (huge time savings) AND you can stack them up to dry (huge space savings).  Forgive this crude drawing – I will post an actual picture this evening:

 It’s time to get painting!

Wish me luck.

David

 

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

2 responses »

  1. Jenniffer Dorsett

    I would LOVE to have that room on spaceplanner.com!!

    I love the floors in your spare room.

    Reply
  2. Isn’t that room amazing?! I have sincere fantasies about being that organized and neat.

    And thanks for liking the floors. I think whoever built my house (1940) must have been a floor salesman because every room has a different kind of wood floor. Parquet, herringbone, the living room has true, wide peg and groove floors. It’s pretty if a little schizophrenic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

