RSS Feed

Paint sticks and Pottery Barn

First off, welcome  to all the nice folks who found me via Mod Podge Rocks and the amazing Amy!  Thank you very much for checking out my in- it’s- infancy- blog and your kind comments.

And now onto my latest.

I never know what to do with leftover paint sticks.   Even if I turn them around and use both ends (no I wasn’t born during the Depression – I’m just thrifty that way) that still leaves the middle…. 

 Anyway, due to Hoarding Syndrome a desire to be as green as possible they were starting to pile up.  I was about to throw them out when I came across these planters in a Pottery Barn catalogue and my mind started to percolate.

.

I had this sitting on a shelf –

which I’d taken to referring to as That Thing I Don’t Know What To Do With.  Nor, honestly, do I know why, where or when I acquired it.  I’m like that sometimes.  But, perhaps, this  was it’s calling.

So, using my miter saw I got to work cutting the paint sticks to size and then painting them with leftover paint.

After some sanding and the application of a little antiquing glaze I used Gorilla Glue to attach them to the sides of That Thing I Don’t Know What to Do With.

And it came out looking like this.

I have to be honest.  I’m still not quite sure what it is.  I’m not particularly into flowers but I put little votives with flowers in it because A) they were blooming in my backyard (see aforementioned Depression style thrifty tendencies) and B) it was based on that Pottery Barn planter so I just went with the flow. 

 But I’m thinking it could also work for holding pens and pencils and such in my new work room (I’ll start sharing that project next week).

 Any other ideas?  I’m open to all suggestions.

Best,

David

Linking to:

TT button BLUE

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

15 responses »

  1. I have to tell you, there are thousands of women who would love to have made something so awesome! This rocks! The flowers are awesome, but women everywhere would find so much to use it for in their craft rooms! Now we will all be looking for strange planter things, and stalking their local home improvement store for paint sticks!

    Reply
  2. I found you through MPR and I am signing up for e-mail updates. Thanks for the inspiration- I love your projects!

    Reply
  3. Not sure what it is called either – but it turned out great! Love the coastal color palette, too!

    Reply
  4. This is a really cool idea, David!

    Shared this on FJI Facebook. 🙂

    Donna
    http://funkyjunkinteriors.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  5. The ‘thing” looks like a small parts organizer – it probably once had a dowel handle on it for ease of transport. Love your transformation. Looks great!

    Reply
  6. Great job!!! This is SO stinkin’ cute! 🙂

    Reply
  7. It turned out really cool. You could put vintag-y tools in it!

    Reply
  8. Pink Survivor 03

    Love the patriotic topiary. Went right out and bought ribbon!!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: 10 Great Uses for Leftover House Paint « ahistoryofhome

  10. Pingback: Main Ingredient Monday – Paint Stirrers

  11. I’m so very much loving this idea! Thanks so much for the amazing inspiration!

    🙂 Linda

    Reply
  12. Pingback: where have all the paint sticks gone?

  13. I would hang it on the wall, and put herbs in it, or vases with flowers. Much more fun to have them hanging around instead of standing on a table..

    Reply
  14. Its a great idea!!! It has turned out lovely!!!
    Besos

    Reply
  15. I will now be on a mission to find something to attach paint sticks too! This is adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

