RSS Feed

A Life’s Story in Scrap Wood – Tutorial

Scrap Wood Decor Tutorial Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge RocksFirst off, thank you for all your kind responses to my folks 70th!

Do you find that you go through phases where money comes in but then you go through phases where money just goes out…..and out….and out?

With the bathroom remodel and various other upgrades and fixes I’m definitely in an OUT phase.  So I made a vow that any new projects I come up with need to make use of what I have lying around.

And what I have lying around is scrap wood!

From an economic and an environmental perspective I try to make use of everything.  The scrap wood from coaster production gets cut down to become the backers for my magnetsRetro Refrigerator Magnetsor the risers for my Etsy Subway Signs  etc etc.

Custom Subway Graphic Wedding and Birth Signs

Custom Subway Graphic Birth and Wedding Signs by Cheltenham Road on Etsy

But I’m still losing the battle of the scrap wood pile.

So, when my next Mod Podge Rocks project came due I was determined to use the random bits of lumber left over from cutting up the backers for the subway signs.Scrap Wood Supplies for Dimensional Wall Art by Cheltenham RoadAnd though I was inspired by this Pottery Barn wall hangingPottery Barn Painted Pieced Woodwork my version is completely unrelated (my mind is a confusing place).

I decided it would be cool to just show little scraps of where I’d lived or been – kind of my life’s journey via mod podge and scrap wood……which given my current state seems very, very appropriate.Graphic Life Story Wall Art by Cheltenham Road

Cheltenham Road Wall Art Tutorial for Mod Podge RocksHead on over to Mod Podge Rocks for the full tutorial – it’s pretty easy and very adaptable.

That-DIY-Party-link-party-button

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. That’s cool, I like the different depths of the pieces. Britain??? Haven’t heard that story…

    Reply
  2. What a fantastic idea! It’s personal AND fun to look at!

    Reply
  3. David, your creations are just so original. Amazing… again!

    Reply
  4. I can’t tell you how much I love this idea! We’re a military family and have lived a bajillion different places. Thanks to you, I’ve now got ideas for something similiar rolling around in my head for each of my children.

    Reply
    • That would be great! If you do end up doing it please send some pics – I would love to see your version. After I made this one I stumbled across a bunch of old drawings and report cards of mine and I’m now thinking about making another one myself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers

