RSS Feed

Breakfast in Bed

Breakfast in Bed Tray Tutorial by Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge RocksJust a quickie post to say that my latest tutorial is up over at Mod Podge Rocks.

In my continued quest to clean up and weed out stuff from my workroom and the garage I’m trying not to buy new things unless I know A) exactly what to do with them and B) that I will do it promptly.

But, when I saw this breakfast tray marked at just $2.0o in the thrift store (admittedly a place I probably shouldn’t be going if my goal is to not buy new things) I knew it met both criteria:Thrift Store Breakfast Tray Tutorial Cheltenham RoadA) I really wanted to try out the new(ish) Mod Podge Transfer Medium and I had a “vision!”
B) I needed a new Mod Podge Rocks project

and…bonus!

C) I wanted breakfast in bed

It all came together nicely and the transfer medium was easy to work with.Mod Podge Tray Tutorial by Cheltenham Road

So join me for breakfast won’t you (although by the time I took the picture it wasn’t breakfast time anymore and the coffee was cold……but I totally scarfed the croissant…….and the four others that came in the package  because, as you know, I’m all about moderation.)

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

10 responses »

  1. I love that tray! Question…what type of paper are you using for your transfer? The reason I ask is that I’ve had horrible results with another type of transfer gel. As I was gently rubbing the paper off…which took forever…some of my words came off as well. I used a Laser printer but I’m wondering if my paper was too thick. I also didn’t care for the “shadow” the unprinted portion left. Any ideas?

    Reply
    • Hey Vickie. I just used basic Staples brand legal size paper. For my other Mod Podge work I do use a thicker paper but just as you said I wanted something a bit thinner for this. I’ve worked with other medium’s too and it took a loooong time to get the paper off but that wasn’t the case here. I also got the paper very wet before I peeled.
      As for the shadow – everything gets transferred – even just the edge of white paper around the image. For this I left a little “bleed” to my red lines so I could cut right up to them with no white edge.
      Hope that helps but, of course, if I can clarify at all don’t hesitate to ask.
      David

      Reply
      • Thanks David for the quick response. I’ll change over to Mod Podge and see if that takes care of my problem. How do you get the “bleed” to your lines?

      • Sorry to be vague like that. By “bleed” I just mean, in essence, “extra.” So on my design I made the red lines just a bit thicker than I actually wanted them. That way, when I cut the image out I could cut away the “extra” red and leave no white border. Does that make sense? (if sometimes find it hard to describe things).

      • Brilliant David! Thanks for the answer to “bleed”!

  2. I love it!! The hotel graphic is perfect!!! :)

    Reply
  3. I love your site. I wish we were neighbors and I could hire you to tutor me in craftology!

    Random fact: My husband grew up in Glenside, PA, near Cheltenham.

    By the way, have you ever seen manmadediy.com? Cool projects there. Thought you might like it, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers

