RSS Feed

Portable Wall for Craft Show Display

Portable Wall for Craft Show Display

As I returned home from loading in for Unique LA last Friday I found myself happily thinking “wow – it’s all loaded in!  Booth looks good, most of my work is done AND I haven’t hit my head on anything like I usually do before a big show!Smiley_Face

…….later that evening, as the ER doctor carefully sewed the tip of my thumb  back on after I had nearly severed it with an Exacto blade I made a silent vow to NEVER HAVE ANOTHER POSTIVE THOUGHT IN MY LIFE!!!

Actually, I was quite lucky.  The ER wasn’t crowded.  The doc and staff were great.  The injury didn’t (and hasn’t) actually hurt and my trauma did earn my sympathy from my very concerned, wood-worker father.  Here is our exchange:

Dad: I told you not to get hurt in the shop.

Me: I was in the dining room.

Dad: That’s fine then.  Carry on.

Despite all that the weekend went great (although I discovered that, while it is true that language skills are key it  is really opposable thumbs that make me different from, say, a cow or a very chatty house plant……  Making change proved quite challenging).

The show was beautifully run, as always, the crowds were good, friends dropped by along with returning customers and, in general, a fine time was had by all.

But I wanted to share my new display idea.

As long time readers know I’m kind of a lunatic about figuring out how best to display my wares and this time was no different.

I made some tweeks to my Coaster Display boards by adding plexiglass to make the coasters more visible.  I also changed the shelves to make them a bit more portable (I’ll detail that in a separate blog post).

Portable Display Tower for Craft Show

Portable Display Tower for Craft Show

But my big thing was to come up with a way to show my subway signs to best advantage.  There are two sizes: large (16” wide 2’ long) and small (9” wide 12” long) and I wanted them all in one spot and hanging up so people could see all the options.

You can’t actually attach hooks and things to the booth walls at Unique so I needed a Plan B.

I wanted a wall.  And it needed to be pretty big.

I had the following criteria for the design.

1)      As always – it had to fit in the Fit (that’s my tiny but mighty Honda Fit car) which meant it needed to break down into small parts

2)      It needed to be very stable.  I wanted to hang the signs off of it but not worry about it tipping over on someone.  But I couldn’t anchor it to the ground nor did I want big “feet” sticking out to trip people.

3)     And, most importantly, it needed to be cheap!

The “stable with a small footprint” was really stumping me until I stumbled across these at Home Depot

Concrete Footing Piers

Concrete Footing Piers

They are footing piers and the come ready made with their metal cleats  sized to hold 2x4s (the 2×4 in the pic is mine) and, best of all, cost only $7.00 each.  They are heavy but not unliftable – I used my dolly to move them around.

Once I found those the plan came together easily.

I attached 5’10” long 2x4s to the piers with screws (you can see them in the pic above – the extra piece of 2×4 was because I decided at the last minute I wanted a little extra height)  and cut very inexpensive “furring stips” into 5’ lengths (I ended up with ten 5’ furring strips).

I temporarily drilled the furring strips into place and then distressed them and painted them white.Understain the EdgesI needed the wall to be portable and I wanted a way to set it up and take it down quickly.

I bought some bolts and their corresponding nuts and drilled holes through the slats and the posts. Drilled Post

BoltThat way to assemble it on-site I just had to slip the bolts through the holes, tighten the nuts and BAM instant wall!

I must say it worked beautifully!

It was quick to set up and break down.   I just added some screws  on-site to hang the signs from.

Simple Wall Display for Craft Booth

Simple Wall Display for Craft Booth

It was solid as a rock and, I think, looked nice.Easy To Build Wall Display for Craft ShowThe total cost was around$50 (I had the paint on hand, and a few of the bolts)

And it fit in the FIT!

I’m already thinking of the other ways it could be adapted.  I could create alternate, shorter rails for a smaller display.  I could build simple shelves that hook onto the rails to create a kind of multi-product wall if I wanted etc etc.

OK, onward.  I have another show in two weeks.  I get my stitches out next Monday and need to make lots of coasters cause I’m sold out!

Hope everyone had a great mother’s day weekend.

David

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

3 responses »

  1. That is SO COOL! I am constantly trying to figure out a better to display my goodies (that could be so misinterpreted…tell me you know what I mean) that is inexpensive, portable, and functional and DIY. Nicely done. Love your wares, BTW, and see one of your signs that would be perfect for my brother-in-law.

    Reply
  2. OUCH!
    P.S. I like your wall display idea, very creative as usual

    Reply
  3. metamediarich

    Here’s an interesting thought I came across today –

    http://design-milk.com/wooden-letters-decor-by-we-archdesign/?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=pulsenews

    Sorry to hear about your thumb – hope it doesn’t hurt your championship video game play!

    Cheers –

    Rich Bowers

    Sent from my iPad Remote but in touch …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,377 other followers

