RSS Feed

Halloween Inspiration Quest Continues

OK, it’s still, like, 90 degrees outside which does not make my mind wander to thoughts of Pumpkin Spice Lattes nor fill me with a desire to carve pumpkins.

However, the Halloween mantle must be created! (well, actually the Halloween store display must be created for one of my favorite shops and shop owners – Marci at Co0p 28 in Los Feliz)

You may recall that I came up with my Halloween subway sign as I was just about to sign off for a nap.

Clearly I’m good under pressure.

So, naturally when Marci called to say she wanted the full display sooner I immediately felt like lying down.

But there was no time!  It was Thursday afternoon and she wanted it by Friday.  I guess other non-weather-dependent people were already in the Halloween mood and had asked for products.

So I applied sunscreen and wandered to the garage and to try to come up with a  plan.

I cut some of my spare ¾” plywood down to 9.5×9.5 squares, waxed the edges and painted them black.  And after it dried I sanded the edges and added some support strips

(You may be noticing  a distinct lack of new creative ideas  a unique, personal style developing in my Halloween decorations.)

Back at the computer I blew up the images from my Halloween Coaster Sets to 8″ squares and, using Mod Podge applied them to some thin Masonite boards that I’d cut to size.

I went to attach the mounted, dried, graphics to the sanded backer boards and had a dilemma.

Once you put the graphic boards over the support strips you can’t SEE the support strips to nail into them.

Tricky.

So I slid extra support strips above and below them and, viola, a guide!

Genius!…..except when I accidentally nailed the guide in place and couldn’t get it out……

Anyway, a quick coat of spray sealer and it was off to the CoOp

I love it when a plan comes together!

They were very simple to make and Marci wants more.

I got some candle blocks in there.

And my Halloween Magnets

More ideas to come!  After a brief siesta…..and a dip in a pool.

PS: These were, obviously, pretty simple to make and you could easily use images from the Graphics Fairy or any other clip art that caught your fancy.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. Oh my oh my oh my. I am drooling here. Seriously, I need a bib. I am LOVING all this Halloween stuff. I am so in love with your Halloween bus roll …. do you mind if I copy this? (I’ll wait till you grand me permission -insert picture of me begging here-)
    You are such a talented guy, amazing!

    Reply
  2. These are pretty great for “Lack of creative ideas”

    Reply
  3. I like how you raised up the graphics off the backer board. (Now I’ve got that Josh Groban song in my head…”you raise me up…”) You have such original ideas and products!

    Reply
  4. The display is so vintage horror, I love it! And I know exactly how you feel about the weather, Miami’s the same way. Not very inspiring nor festive.

    Reply
  5. I love all your projects.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,381 other followers

