RSS Feed

Serioulsy? Halloween? Already?

One of the aspects of this career path that I didn’t count on was the whole “get ready for a holiday four months before the holiday.”  I still can’t quite master thinking about Christmas in June.

Hence my shock when people started rolling out their completed FALL MANTLES! this week.

I don’t really have a mantle (there is a big TV there) which I thought got me out of the Fall Mantle requirement.

I was wrong.

One of my stores asked me for Fall Mantle decorations.  And, double whammy, Halloween Fall Mantle decorations.

I’m not much of a Halloween guy.  Once people stopped giving me free candy I kind of lost interest in the whole event.

But, I have had good success with my snarky, literary Halloween coasters (warning: if you click on them you’ll end up in my Etsy shop)

And my vintage Halloween candle blocks

But, frankly I was a little stuck.  My brain just wasn’t ready for Halloween thoughts.

And then this afternoon, juuuuuust as I was convincing myself that a nap was totally justified an idea hit.

Perhaps a variation on my subway signs with a Halloween theme?

I had all the parts so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I took a ¾” pine board, painted it black, added some support strips, waxed the edges with a candle and then gave it a coat of Rustoleum’s Orange Spray Paint.

In the meantime after some  after some quick brainstorming with The Muse who is a whiz and both literature and being clever we came up with the text (text?! In a CheltenhamRoad craft project?!  Well, I never!)

and I printed it out of 8.5×14” paper.

and mod podged it onto my precut slats of wood (3 x 13.5”)…..that I really should have dusted before photographing them.

By that time the orange paint had dried and I gave it a quick power sanding and got that rustic/antiquey look I likeI attached the wood slats to the backing board and

I have a Halloween Mantle!

Welcome Fall!

OK, it’s not really a mantle it’s the top of a bookcase.I’d like some candy now please

PS: the full tutorial for these Subway Signs appeared originally on Mod Podge Rocks

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

16 responses »

  1. Your projects are wonderful and I love your creativity, but my favorite part is your humor. At some point in every post you make me burst out laughing. Thank you for being so generous with your tutorials and also for the entertainment.

    Reply
  2. Jenniffer Dorsett

    I agree with Doreen. Your posts make my day!

    Reply
  3. You deserve a big ol’ bucket of candy for this. What a great project!

    Reply
  4. “Sleepy Hollow – Pop 1343 1/2″ – Hee hee!

    Reply
  5. Love all your Hallowe’en stuff. I’m like you, I find it hard to get into a season that is far away but I hate to tell you most crafters have been working on Christmas things for over a month!

    Reply
  6. Awesome! I love all of your projects. Pinned!

    Reply
  7. WOW. This is why I love pinterest! I just found you and your projects and I love what you did but also the kind of snarky humor (I mean that in the very best way!). I’m now a fan~

    Reply
  8. I love your sign! Where did you get your graphics? Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers

