RSS Feed

Paint Chip Calendar Tutorial

I’m having one of those “work from dawn till midnight” kinda weeks.

You see, despite my screw up with the deadlines Unique LA let my apply late and I got and and the show is this weekend.

It’s gonna be great!  I’m pretty excited and a bit nervous.  This will be the first time, I have a whole booth to myself.  I’ve been working on new set up (pictures to come…. spoilers – I used the color green!  Shocking I know!), building display, making tons of coasters and, well,  everything else – letters, home signs, subway art, candle blocks etc etc.

In the meantime – the paint chip calendar I made for my workroom makeover seems to be popular on Pinterest and I’ve had a couple of people ask me how I made it so I thought I’d do a quickie tutorial.

By “quickie” I mean that I really don’t have any pictures to illustrate much so bear with me.

I used:

  • Poster frame ($2 from Good Will)
  • Sand Paper – fine grit
  • Spray Paint (optional)
  • Fabric
  • Spray adhesive
  • Paint chips
  • Glue dots
  • Spray Paint

1)      After a light sanding I painted the frame with a gloss white spray paint.

2)      My frame was empty when I bought it so I cut a piece of foam core to use for the backing.

3)      I sprayed the adhesive on the foam core and then placed my fabric over it smoothing out the wrinkles.  I then flipped it over and folded the extra fabric on the back and taped it in place.

4)      I needed a big calendar and I found that Home Depot’s Behr line has the largest paint chips around.  They were a little too large actually.  After doing the math I trimmed them down to 3” wide and 5.75” tall.  I also used my little round-over corner trimmer on the top left corner.

5)      As you may have gathered this was a bit of “grab what’s around” project and I had some of those glue dots so I used them to stick the paint chips to the fabric.  To be honest this met with mixed results.  A few of the paint chips just would NOT stay stuck.  I have no idea why – the rest of them seemed to be with the program, but just a few kept falling off.  I eventually (and somewhat crankily) just used a dab of Elmers glue to hold them in place.

6)      I just used a piece of card stock and Microsoft Word to print out the days of the week to run along the top (same with the Notes section at the bottom – just a piece of cardstock cut to fit)

7)      I re-assmbled the whole thing and BOOM! Wall calendar.Paint Chip Wall Calendar TutorialSo, I apologize again for the lack of photographic accompaniment but I hope this answers a few of the questions about the calendar.

And if you’re an LA kinda person please do come to the Unique Show this weekend!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

29 responses »

  1. Thanks for the tutorial! Great calendar idea and can be color coordinated for anyones decor!!

    Reply
  2. Love, love, love this! So simple, and fun! I love all of your creations!

    Reply
  3. Hi! This looks great!! Is the part you write on glass or plastic? I wondered about the erasibility of plastic but like that it is lighter than glass. Thanks!

    Reply
    • Thanks Samantha. Excellent question – sorry I didn’t address it. My frame had a piece of glass which works great. I don’t know if plastic would hold up in the long run – you might end up with those un-erasable bits. It’s certainly worth a try though.

      Reply
    • I use a Dollar Tree frame with plastic instead of glass as a menu board and have had no problems with erasing. I’ve been using it for a couple years now.

      Reply
  4. this is awesome! i want one…

    Reply
  5. Will it sync with my Google Calendar? You know I loved this when I saw it. I hope Unique LA went well!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: 3 Ideas to Organize Your Life and Improve Your Home – Just Meyda Tiffany Blog

  7. I love this! I featured you over at my blog today so my readers can hop over here to see the full tutorial. Thanks so much for a great idea & thorough tutorial!

    Reply
  8. This is adorable, and looks really nice. I will have to do this for my house

    Reply
  9. I loved this from the minute I pinned it! I finally got around to making one of my own. http://seeleyfamilyblog.blogspot.com/2012/10/diy-paint-chip-wall-calendar.html

    Thanks for the great idea!!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: DIY – Calendrier | À la mode Montréal

  11. I just saw this on the money saving expert site in the UK I absolutely LOVE it. I shall attempt to make myself one after Christmas as I’m too busy shuffling everything I have to do! It’s all written on a piece of card, it will look much nicer on one of your boards!
    Jakix

    Reply
  12. I saw this on http://www.moneysavingexpert.com as well! Brilliant idea, thank you for sharing it, and you may be pleased to know that you have been added to the weekly email as the best adult Christmas present for less than £5:

    http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/shopping/festive-fivers#paintsample

    Reply
  13. hiya, what kind of pens can you use / do you use? Its a really brill idea, thanks for being so amazing :) x

    Reply
  14. Hey I have a question. Has anyone tried laminating one, instead of the glass with a frame? I want to make one for my college hall this coming year and I just want dont to worry about passer byers making it fall. Plus figuring out how to make sure it stays on the cement walls. Any thoughts anyone? Thanks for posting this sweet idea! :)

    Reply
    • Hey Hannah. I don’t know about laminating though I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. Plexiglass/plastic will work just as well as glass though if that’s an option for you.

      Reply
  15. Lesley I Cloud Email

    Hi
    I was wondering where you got those great clear wall mounted pockets for mail etc?
    Thanks :-)

    Reply
  16. beautiful idea. ok so i need to write down an event that’s happening next month … wait a minute how do i do that?

    Reply
    • There are a couple of options. I added a “notes” area to the bottom right corner of mine (you can see it in the photos) where I jot down things that will be landing the following month. Or you can cut down the size of your paint chips to get a few more weeks onto the calendar.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers

