RSS Feed

Another Anniversary!

My new tutorial has just been posted over at Mod Podge Rocks and it marks another anniversary for me – my one year ManPodgerVersary.

A little over a year ago Amy (the Mod Podge Rocks Grand Poo-bah and master of all things podgy) put out a call asking if there were any guys who used Mod Podge.  The talented Walter Silva and I responded and she asked us to come up with projects and it has been an amazing opportunity.

Amy is a constant source of encouragement and positive energy and incredibly patient (I keep turning in my tutorials late or just-on-time-but-not-really-on-time-enough).  And being pleasantly “forced” to come up with ideas has been the best imagination-stretching opportunity ever!

In addition it has lead me to meet most if not all of you who read this blog and for that I am very grateful!

Here is a brief anniversary tour of some of the projects that never would have happened without Ms. Anderson’s encouragement (and my friends who help me brainstorm when I’m stuck):

(If you click on the pictures it will take you to the tutorial on Mod Podge Rocks)

A cocktail table made from a shadow box frame and a porch rail:Chalkboard Paint place card holders:Reversible Chalkboard Bunting (I was going through a chalkboard phase)chalkboard bunting project

Some more of my blocks themed for Halloween :Comic Book Coasters made from hardware store wall plates:

Luminaries made with more hardware store odds and ends:

And there are tons more.  It’s been great!

Anyway, the new project is up.

As you know from my previous post I (sort of) recently found out about Anaglypta Paper and have been looking for ways to use it.  I’ve put it under glass on some tables but this time around I thought I’d try using it on some of my letters.

I thought these could make for cool centerpieces or wedding….things?  I’m not sure but they seem potentially very weddingy (it’s a word!) to meIf you like the look head on over to MPR for the full tutorial.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. I love your blog and writing style. Very entertaining (and creative)!! I look forward to checking it every day.

    Reply
  2. Happy Anniversary buddy! I agree this has been a wonderful challenge.
    Look forward to seeing more fun tutorial from you and I look forward to creating NEW uses for Mod Podge too! Loving the new HOME tutorial!!!

    Reply
  3. Ann Hearn Tobolowsky

    Hey, David, great to find your blog. I’ve been collecting things for a project for a year now, so you have inspired me! (A box to keep chocolates in, decorated with chocolate wrappers!) – Ann (Tobolowsky)

    Reply
  4. David,

    I am in LOVE with these!! How did I not see these other Mod Podge related posts before?! I am so glad we have some testosterone mixed in with us to keep us on the straight and narrow. . .lol!! Happy anniversary, I love your blog!

    Reply
  5. Congrats! I will have to pin several of those ideas. Thanks for visiting my blog and for the kind comments!!

    Reply
  6. Ohmygawd….I’m in love with the Anaglypta-covered letters. I have no idea what I would use them for (not being in the market for a wedding personally, or knowing anyone preparing for a wedding), but I’m surrounded by friends and family with little girly-girls (and friends and family themselves who are girly-girls). There’s something in there for me to make, I’m sure (and, of course, keep). Those are just great!

    Reply
    • Thanks Deb! I hoped they would be a useful starting point for someones imagination. The great thing about Anaglypta is that you can paint it any color that you want, or rub it with distressing ink for an aged look. So you’re totally right, they could be in a kids/baby’s room, or painted with metallic spray paint and aged a bit for a faux pressed tin “EAT” sign for someone’s kitchen.

      If you do make any please send a pic – it would be great to see it.

      dsc

      http://www.cheltenhamroad.etsy.com http://www.cheltenhamroad.wordpress.com

      >________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,381 other followers

