RSS Feed

The Workroom is Finished!………….Sort of!!!!

OK, after much delay (like a year) and much hemming and hawing and procrastination my workroom is ready!

OK, well, it’s more kinda-sorta-ready-but-I’ve-been-drawing-this-out-so-long-I’m-starting-to-annoy-myself-so-here-it-is ready.

So here we go!

As Cheltenham Road grew I found myself running all over the house to accomplish even minor things.  The computer was in one room, I was working in the dining room, half my stuff was in the garage.  I got a lot of exercise but it took forever to get anything done.

My spare bedroom had been, for quite a while, occupied by a string of female friends who were going through various life transitions (one was out in LA for “pilot season” auditions; one broke up with her boyfriend and needed a place to stay for a while, one was moving back to New York but not quite yet etc etc.) and needed a place to stay.  I was happy to oblige and after a while everyone began referring to the room as “The David Cheaney Home for Wayward Girls.”

They had all been great houseguests but it was time to get down to business so, sadly TDCHWG was forced to close it’s doors.

And that’s when I got to work.

What I needed was a Command Central.  Someplace where I could do all my computer work but also a workroom where I could get production going and going smoothly.  I needed a clean open space with a good amount of storage.  I also needed it to be pleasant as I was going to be spending  A LOT of time here.

Here is the before:

The blue was nice – I really liked it – but I needed the space to be brighter so up went a coat of tan (it looks yellow in all the pictures for some reason).

I quick trip to Ikea produced two bookcases that I laid on their sides and topped with a Remainder Bin desktop.Along the sides of the desk are boxes for storage

And when I’m done with the coasters I can just swivil around and put them on the drying racks.When they are all dry I can pop them in their storage cases – which also makes keeping track of inventory a little easier.

(they are not alphabetized…don’t tell Phebe)

I carved out a mailing station with everything I need handy: envelopes, tape, there are boxes in the tall cabinet and customs forms and bubble wrap in the drawers.  There is even a holder for wrapping paper for the occasional gift-wrap request.I made the former closet (here is what it looked like before):Into  my computer station.

It’s like workroom heaven! (or perhaps just a very overexposed picture)

It’s even possible I may not screw up any more dates now that I have my wall calender made of Home Depot Paint Chips and an old poster frame from the Good Will!

(OK it’s highly unlikely that the calendar will save me from my date-challenged self but it’s worth a shot).

I must confess that I’m a little surprised that vintage/retro loving me managed to create workspace that is all clean lines and white surfaces.  But I knew there was going to be a lot of clutter and a lot of projects and I just wanted the space itself to be kind of neutral.

There is still lots to be done.

I need some more labels on drawers, the front of the Mailing Station needs to be finished and more holes need to be drilled in the desk as I continue to try to figure out why my “wireless” lifestyle requires so many wires!

But overall I’m pleased and it really has helped me get a little more on top of things.

Linking up!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

46 responses »

  1. Looks awesome!!! (and seems so familiar :))

    Love the paint chip calendar, computer station, and the label maker gone wild labels everywhere!!

    Enjoy your new workspace! I am sure it will inspire you.

    Reply
  2. Good job David. Your sisters will be so proud…even Phebe.
    Nicki

    Reply
  3. Two words…FLIPPING AWESOME! I absolutely love the green and white. So sleek and fresh. And that paint chip calendar???? Get OUT! That is the coolest thing ever. You totally rocked this. :)

    Reply
  4. David, this is AWESOME! I am lusting after your workroom:)

    Reply
  5. Turned out great!! Now about alphabetizing the bins….it will only take you a few minutes. :) Makes things so east to find. :)
    The paint chip calendar may not help you with your schedule, but it still looks great hanging there not helping. I like the office in the closet, I am planning to do the same thing, eventually, when I get a moment, etc.etc. Donna G.

    Reply
  6. WOW what a makeover for that room. I want get in there and work.

    Reply
  7. It turned out great! Never thought about turning those bookcases on their side. Ingenious!

    Reply
    • Thanks Dana! I wish I could totally claim that I’m a genius and it’s all my idea but I have to be honest – they had them that way in a magazine. Stealing is the sincerest form of flattery, no? I keep trying to tell the bank cashier that but so far, no luck

      Reply
  8. Jenniffer Dorsett

    I am so envious! It turned out great!

    Reply
  9. Looks amazing!!!

    Reply
  10. David, it is beautiful and inspiring. I, too, would love to get in there and go to work. But I’d need a place to stay….
    It Looks like everything will be in order and ready to hand. It is almost too beautiful–you need to mess it up.

    Love, Sally

    Reply
  11. What a great space and so glad to have you join Wow.

    Reply
  12. Wow David, this is too awesome! And it only took a year…..Everyone seems to have already said what I was going to mention so…..Let me say that I’ve been working on my sewing room for much longer and can’t seem to find an end point. Maybe now that you have finished….you can come over and get ME to finish!!!!
    Congratulations on such a beautiful, work inspiring makeover!

    Reply
  13. I love your workroom, and the calendar with paint chips is so inspired! The space is so fresh and light, what a wonderful place to work.

    Reply
  14. What a wonderful organized room you’ve created! I love it and now you’re ready to go to town.
    be a sweetie,
    Shelia ;)

    Reply
  15. cherrybubbins

    I love everything about this room!!

    Reply
  16. Fabulous job, David, that looks like a great place for you to create!

    Reply
  17. What a great space this turned out to be! So organized…great job, glad to find your blog…
    Nancy

    http://wildoakdesigns.blogspot.com

    Reply
  18. wow…amazing room!! I especially love the calendar & oh what one wouldn’t do for such a window =)

    Reply
  19. OK after seeing this GREAT space, I am as green as your calendar…can you please come and help me do mine???

    Reply
    • Thanks Claudia! I think I like the idea of “Dave Cheaney – Space Designer!” (it gets me back to my Star Trek childhood fantasies…..sort of). I’ll be right over!

      Reply
  20. Great workspace. It even follows my decorating mantra: “Clean, crisp, light and bright.” It will definitely save you time and aggravation.

    One suggestion though, a comfortable chair at the computer desk will save you lots of back and neck pain. Ask me how I know.

    Reply
  21. This room is amazing inspiration! I do have a question-Where did you find the tabletop you put on the IKEA bookcases?

    Reply
    • Thank you Rachel. The top was in the remainders/damaged section of Ikea as well. Although, honestly, a sheet of cabinet grade plywood painted white would work just as well. It’s the glass on the top that makes it truly practical.

      Reply
  22. That desk is awesome! Did you secure the table top to the bookcases/secure the bookcases together somehow? I am looking to create a practical/inexpensive/IKEA hacked L shaped desk for my work as well, and this looks perfect.

    Reply
    • Thanks Stacy. To be honest, I intended to connect the pieces of the desk but haven’t yet. I had a piece of glass cut for the desk top and the weight of it keeps things in place pretty well. I will, eventually, probably put double sided carpet tape or something between the bookcase and the desktop just for extra stability. Alternatively, you could just run a couple of screws up through the bookcase and into the desktop.

      Reply
  23. wow, beautiful! I am so jealous! I really need to sort my workroom out…

    Reply
  24. Wow! Love that you put the bookcases on their side {ingenious!} and the paint chip calendar is awesome & a nice change from the typical calendar. I’d never leave the room LOL It’s beautiful!

    Reply
  25. love the way you’ve used the shelves to create the L shaped workspace! And that calendar is great! Been looking to create a calendar for my studio that can also add a bit of color!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,381 other followers

