RSS Feed

Patchwork, Coasters and Wedding Blocks… Oh My!

Hi,

I’m workin’ away getting ready for Patchwork on Sunday.  If anyone is LA-local please do consider dropping by.  The historic Helms Bakery is one of the coolest spots in LA to cruise around (whether you go to the show or not) and the Patchwork show is inside so you can peruse without need of sunscreen!

I’m trying to get some new designs out in time.  I’ve been working on my Wonderful LA coastersVintage Los Angeles Coasters

Vintage Los Angeles coaster setAnd a few other project that I’ll try to photograph before the event.

Also, if you’re keen on such things, my new tutorial is up over at Amy’s Mod Podge Rocks site.  I came up with (yet another) variation on my tea light holders but the tutorial also goes into how to get that distressed look under the paper.And now it’s out to the garage!  Things to paint!  Things to sand!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

2 responses »

  1. I love these blocks! Saw them on Mod Podge Rocks…and I’ve now added them to my Mod Podge crafts page….Thanks for sharing with us!

    http://www.reasonstoskipthehousework.com/crafts/mod-podge-crafts

    Smiles,
    Melanie

    Reasons To Skip The Housework {The Blog}

    Reply
  2. Hello and greetings from Liverpool, UK…

    You clearly have an amazing talent for creating unique gifts and transforming ‘tired’ furniture and I just felt moved to drop you a line and thank you for sharing with us the phenomenal results of your effort and skill.

    I’ve been fascinated and truly engrossed by your blog and wondered whether you have ever ‘published’ a step-by-step tutorial for the creation of your coasters?

    Best wishes

    Tony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,381 other followers

