RSS Feed

Paris Metro Coffee Table Makeover

I woke up yesterday to find my Vintage Postcard Dresser made the Before and After section of Apartment Therapy.com.  Wow!  I felt totally honored and equally amazed by the bump in my blog views!

The commenters were really kind and my sister Phebe received a lot of praise for steering me away from my original idea of using chalkboard paint on the drawers.  I think this is a great new path for Phebe – consultant – I’ve taken the liberty of printing up business cards for her:And I finally (FINALLY!!) finished up my long ago started, long ago sidetracked Paris Subway Art Coffee Table.

There is a bit of history here that you may have forgotten so let’s do it TV style

 Previously on “French Coffee Table……”

David found a cast off coffee table with broken legs.

David reglued the legs and patched the ugly cracks using Bondo!Frenchy curves led David to make some questionable decisions……David impulsively purchased a Cameo Silhouette machine.  Women in store were excited!  A little too excited.  David was nervous. David had lots of trouble getting machine to work (“read the instructions?!  I don’t read instructions!  I’m a guy!  I just instinctively know how things work…..and how to get somewhere without a map….STOP QUESTIONING ME!”) and the project got delayed.

The table was painted and the top distressed in anticipation of design.

The Silhouette problem was solved (apparently it was in a turf war with other printers) and the letters applied!

And after a top coat, some letter peeling, some serious sanding and a bit of distressing with antiquing glaze:Tune in next week when you’ll hear David say:

“Ow!!!!!!  Why do I keep doing that?!!!!!!”creating with the stars

Linking up here:

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

19 responses »

  1. Stencils smenchils. I think I like you less….lol. Seriously, hands down that is your best creation yet. And I’ll be keeping Phoebe’ card handy.
    Nicki

    Reply
  2. Is there a way for me to computer generate a reply to ALL your posts that says “LOVE it!” because it would be easier than typing it each time you come out with another great creation.

    P.S. LOVE it!

    Reply
  3. Love my new business cards…but who will counsel me???
    Phebe

    Reply
  4. Congratulations on the Apartment Therapy plug! I love how the French coffee table came out – glad you got the Cameo to work. How’s the graphics tablet?

    P.S. Did I hear pie again?

    Reply
  5. oh wow that looks awesome- i love the glass top, too! so elegant! and david did a great job with that leg! looks new!

    Reply
  6. OOO la la! Your table is tres magnifique!!!

    Reply
  7. Kristen at The Wayside Cottage

    That is wicked cool! Love it!

    Reply
  8. Beautiful rescue! If you hadn’t mentioned the broken legs, we’d never know! I love my Silhouette machine and glad you got yours working! This is gorgeous, David! I’m with Julie. “LOVE it” button next to the “Pin It” button because it’s my first thought when seeing your creativity every time! Including a link back in this week’s highlights. Thank you so much for sharing. And CONGRATS on the AT shout out! That’s awesome!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Roeshel. My Sihouette still seems to be having difficulties but I’m working on it and it is such an amazing machine.

      And I’m sorry to be so tardy to respond but I do really appreciate it.

      >________________________________

      Reply
  9. This is fabulous.. and DUH i have a cricut and didn’t even think about using it for stencils. Wow, now I feel dumb admitting that publicly. Table is FAB.

    Reply
  10. Taryn @Design, Dining Diapers

    OH this is just beautiful! I love everything about it and I have a soft spot in my heart for Paris so that makes it even better. Great job!

    Reply
  11. This is stunning!! I am going to be including in my weekly wow’s on sunday.

    Reply
  12. Just finished my table ( http://4jeanniemaries.blogspot.com/2012/05/beachy.html ) it is similar to yours but plainer. I was looking online for some inspiration to bump it up a bit and I found the images of your table. I just love the French top!

    Reply
  13. Wow amazing. I am not familiar with Silhouette. Did you print in black and apply onto table?

    Reply
    • Thanks! The Silhouette is a vinyl printer/cutter. I painted the top of the table black, had the machine cut the letters out of vinyl (the vinyl has a adhesive backing) and applied them to the table. After that I painted over everything in white and peeled up the vinyl revealing the shapes of the letters. Hope that helps. Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

