RSS Feed

Rose Bowl Ramp Up!

It’s the big Rose Bowl run up.  One piece of furniture down……several to go……..

When I first saw this little dresser I thought (and you may remember) that I’d put chalkboard paint on the front and make it for a kids room.

However, my sister Phebe wisely weighed in on that idea.

You see Phebe marches to a different drummer than I do.

Phebe’s  drummer is way cool and waaaay together.  Her drummer leads her to have alphabetized spices and to never be late.  My drummer…..probably got fired from the band for missing rehearsal.

Anyway, Phebe pointed out that as a mom of three she wouldn’t have been thrilled to find chalk dust all over her children’s clean clothes.

I really couldn’t argue with her reasoning and so a new idea was born.

Or rather a recent idea was expanded.

I seem to have a thing lately for old postcards.  So after some mad downloading from the Graphics Fairy and a few other sources I came up with this.

Once again, here is the before with it’s charming shelf liner top

And here we go.

Perhaps a little on the busy side but I’m pleased.

OK – back to work!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

21 responses »

  1. Totally awesome! I love the suitcases next to it too. Would look great in a hallway.
    I’m afraid I have to copycat your idea. Sorry but thank you :)

    Reply
  2. Wow! Amazing transformation! Great job!

    Reply
  3. Wow, when you re-think, you really re-think! This looks great!
    Phebe

    Reply
  4. Fabulous! Don’t fret. Just the right amount of “busy”!

    Reply
  5. This looks awesome! Great job!

    Reply
  6. Thank you all very much! I’m very glad you like it (I was seriously concerned it was a bit much).
    And Renee please copycat away – and send the pics! If you need the other resources I used for images let me know.

    Reply
  7. So beautiful, so LIKE it:)

    Reply
  8. that is SO fun! i love this take on all the map/subway art that is going on!

    Reply
  9. I think it turned out great. Wonderful transformation. Yes, I can see where you wouldn’t want chalk board paint on the littles clothes. The post card theme looks great.

    Reply
  10. You are off the hook David! Might as well stick this one in the mail and get it to me ASAP! If you get a chance we’d love you to link up this bad boy to the RRR party starting Friday morning – everyone HAS to see this!

    Reply
  11. Okay this is SO cool and clever I have NEVER seen anything like this before!!!! I would SOOO love for you to come over to my place and link up!!! :o)
    Jaime from Crafty Scrappy Happy
    http://jaimelyn11.blogspot.com/2012/03/crafty-scrappy-happy-me-thursday-26-and.html

    Reply
  12. This is so cute – I love it’s busyness… Thanks for sharing!
    Elisa
    home sweet nest

    Reply
  13. Love all things vintage and this rocks!!
    Kelly

    Reply
  14. David, cool idea! I love that it’s colorful, but not over the top! (and your sis was right – I don’t even like to touch chalk – yuck!) Saw this on apartment therapy – congrats!

    Reply
  15. You do amazing work! Gorgeous furniture! ;)

    Reply
  16. abigail Nicholes

    What did you use to seal the post cards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,335 other followers

