RSS Feed

Dad’s Not So Lazy Susan

I have come to a realization of late.

I am not a process person.

I don’t like rehearsals I like performing.  I don’t like cooking I like eating.  I don’t like sanding and priming I like presenting the finished product.

So, although I know “life is about the journey” I seem to be all about the hotel and the pool.

My father is a process person.  Meticulous.  Careful.  Everything he does is well planned and beautifully executed.

He is awesome but our conflicting styles led to some, um, conflicts when I was younger.

My advice to any 8 year old boys reading this is to NEVER make a model of your favorite spaceship with this man.

It will come out great  but you will lose your mind as he carefully organizes all the parts, sands any minor imperfections, contemplates the paint job and works out how to reinforce the weak spots.

He wanted to create something beautiful.  I just wanted to play with it and, lets be honest, eventually blow it up*.

Not a lot has changed.

I’m running around like a loon trying to finish twelve projects at once, never truly satisfied with any of them, making mistakes because I won’t slow down and my dad is creating this:

My folks moved to a retirement community and, upon arrival, my industrious father immediately gathered like minded citizens and started a woodworking shop/club.  Along with doing their own projects they repair furniture for the residents and other shop-related activities.

Dad recently decided that the lazy susans that sat in the center of each table in the dining room were both inefficient and too small and set about to correct the situation.

You can see the result.  That’s separate segments of ¼” birch stained and then applied almost seamlessly to a base and framed out with molding.

Dad apparently also felt that Central Ohio needed a little continental flair and the wording (which you can’t see clearly) is in German as follows:

The salt and pepper holder is “Das Salz und Pfeffen”, sweeteners is “Die SuBungsmittel”, and the comment sheets “Achtung! Kommentar Bogen Hier”.

His next susan (they will all be different) speaks French and looks like this:

Isnt’ that just beautiful!  I’m blown away.

My dad had a great story about trying to glue down the veneers on this one and every time he’d start a new section the previous section would curl up and he kept running back and forth like a Marx Brother trying to get them all stuck down.

Now, all this is well and good.  Yea for dad and his industrious, talented self!

However, my father makes me angry.

First off, he’s approaching 90  and he clearly has more energy and creativity in his little finger than I have in my whole body.

Second, there’s that patience thing that I never mastered.

Third, he had cataract surgery recently and, despite having worn glasses since he was an embryo he now has 20/20 vision.

And finally, he still has a full head of hair!  And he’s not even using it! – it just sitting up there in a crew cut….mocking me.

* I did not blow up the model and am very, very grateful that he took the time to do it right and that I have such a great memento of my childhood.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. How awesome! Great that your dad taught you so well.

    Reply
  2. Your dad does wonderful work. And even though you work differently…so do you.

    Reply
  3. Your Dad does beautiful stuff. Thanks for sharing it.

    You two are just different, but both amazing. Viva la differance. You complement each other. You don’t have to be the same to both be great, interesting, creative people.

    Cherish him while you still have him. Time goes fast. And, you never get a chance to do it over once he’s gone.

    Reply
  4. Bless your Dad. Cherish him.

    Reply
  5. Ha! I’m sure he would be happy to read this. :)

    Reply
  6. Now, now, dear, legend has it that the hair is Mom’s fault…though, come to think of it, her dad died with a full head of hair too…oh, well, you know how absolutely darling we all think you are! Loved the pictures of Daddy’s susans (I’d seen the first one but not the second). We are so lucky to have them and have inherited some of their talents…and you have a BIG share–I’m bowled over by your blog and products! Love, Phebe

    Reply
  7. What amazing work! It can be seen that creativity runs in the family!

    Reply
  8. This has been my favorite post ever!

    Reply
  9. Your little life stories are very entertaining! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  10. Okay, those Lazy Susans are absolutely SPECTACULAR, and I can read through the lines of your admiration…your love…for him. How LUCKY you are to still have him in your life…I envy you David. OH1 And…oh PLEASE…DO stop with the “I-have-no-patience” line… we ALL see your blog posts…remember!? Keep on keepin’ on my bloggin’ buddy…

    Reply
  11. So, I’m all reading as usual, your wonderful blog when out of nowhere I’m sucker-punched by not one, but TWO works of art!!!! Lazy Susan art, no less!!!!

    Thank you for sharing these!!!

    I adore when people take “usual” things and make them fabulous!!!! See??? You DO have your Dad’s talents!!!! :)

    Reply
  12. Wow, those are amazing! Woodworking and I don’t get along, so it’s awesome to see this-

    PS. I hate model cars for the same reason.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers

